Hope’s Brian Morehouse named 2021 United States Marine Corps/WBCA NCAA Division III National Coach of the Year

ATLANTA (April 28, 2021) — Hope College head coach Brian Morehouse has been named the 2021 United States Marine Corps/WBCA NCAA Division III National Coach of the Year, the Women's Basketball Coaches Association announced today.

Morehouse will receive the Pat Summitt Trophy, named for the late legendary University of Tennessee coach and awarded annually to the national coaches of the year in each of the WBCA’s six membership divisions. It is the second consecutive season that Morehouse has been named National Coach of the Year and the third time in his career. He previously received the honor in 2006.

“The WBCA is proud to announce Brian Morehouse as the 2021 recipient of the Pat Summitt Trophy presented to the United States Marine Corps/WBCA NCAA Division III National Coach of the Year,” said WBCA Executive Director Danielle M. Donehew. “We also congratulate the other head coaches who were selected by their peers as finalists for this prestigious award.

"Brian was chosen for this honor after leading his team to an exceptional season. The WBCA recognizes and applauds his leadership example that can be seen in his student-athletes, institution and community. The WBCA is also incredibly thankful for Brian’s leadership and contributions to his peers and the association as a member of our board of directors.”

Morehouse led the Flying Dutch to a 16-0 record, the program’s 19th Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association regular-season title, and 16th MIAA Tournament championship. It is Hope’s second consecutive undefeated season. The Flying Dutch’s current 45-game winning streak is the eighth longest in NCAA Division III history. Morehouse has a 627-90 record in 25 seasons at Hope.

“The United States Marines Corps extends its congratulations to the 2021 winners of the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association National Coach of the Year Awards,” said Colonel Heather J. Cotoia (Commanding Officer, 4th Marine Corps District). “This award is a testament to your dedication and commitment to your profession and the young Americans under your charge. Again, congratulations on your achievements this season, and on your selection as the WBCA National Coaches of the Year.”

The United States Marine Corps/WBCA NCAA Division III National Coach of the Year is selected by a committee of coaches. This year’s finalists were:



Judy Blinstrub

Babson College

Karin Harvey

Montclair State University

Olivia Lett

Millikin University

Michael Miller

Messiah University

Brian Morehouse

Hope College

Brian Niemuth

Simpson College

Polly Thomason

University of Texas at Dallas

Visit www.wbca.org/recognize/ to see a list of past recipients.

About the WBCA
Founded in 1981, the Women's Basketball Coaches Association is the professional association for coaches of women's and girls' basketball at all levels of competition. The WBCA offers educational resources that coaches need to help make themselves better leaders, teachers and mentors to their players; provides opportunities for coaches to connect with peers in the profession; serves as the unifying voice of a diverse community of coaches to the organizations that control the game; and celebrates those coaches, players and other individuals who excel each year and contribute to the advancement of the sport. Visit WBCA.org for more details about the association.

# # #