Drury’s Amy Eagan named 2021 United States Marine Corps/WBCA NCAA Division II National Coach of the Year

ATLANTA (March 23, 2021) — Drury University head coach Amy Eagan has been named the 2021 United States Marine Corps/WBCA NCAA Division II National Coach of the Year, the Women's Basketball Coaches Association announced today.

Eagan will receive the Pat Summitt Trophy, named for the late legendary University of Tennessee coach and awarded annually to the national coaches of the year in each of the WBCA’s six membership divisions.

“The WBCA is proud to announce Amy Eagan as the 2021 recipient of the Pat Summitt Trophy presented to the United States Marine Corps/WBCA NCAA Division II National Coach of the Year,” said WBCA Executive Director Danielle M. Donehew. “We also congratulate the other head coaches who were selected by their peers as finalists for this prestigious award.

"Amy was chosen for this honor after leading her team to an exceptional season. The WBCA recognizes and applauds her leadership example that can be seen in her student-athletes, institution and community.”

In her first year as head coach of the Panthers, Eagan has directed Drury to a 22-1 record, the Great Lakes Valley Conference and NCAA Division II Midwest Regional championships, and a No. 3 seed in the 2021 NCAA Division II Elite Eight which begins today in Columbus, Ohio. Eagan was named head coach at Drury in April 2020 following the departure of two-time WBCA NCAA Division II National Coach of the Year Molly Miller to Grand Canyon University. Eagan served the 2019-20 season as an assistant coach with the program.  

“The United States Marines Corps extends its congratulations to the 2021 winners of the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association National Coach of the Year Awards,” said Colonel Heather J. Cotoia (Commanding Officer, 4th Marine Corps District). “This award is a testament to your dedication and commitment to your profession and the young Americans under your charge. Again, congratulations on your achievements this season, and on your selection as the WBCA National Coaches of the Year.”

The United States Marine Corps/WBCA NCAA Division II National Coach of the Year is selected by a committee of coaches. This year’s finalists were:



Jennifer Banker

Daemen College

Amy Eagan

Drury University

Tianni Kelly

University of Charleston

Dave Krauth

Augustana University

Kevin Pederson

Lander University

Deandra Schirmer

Valdosta State University

Reid Takatsuka

Hawaii Pacific University

Lora Westling

Western Colorado University

Visit www.wbca.org/recognize/ to see a list of past recipients.

About the WBCA
Founded in 1981, the Women's Basketball Coaches Association is the professional association for coaches of women's and girls' basketball at all levels of competition. The WBCA offers educational resources that coaches need to help make themselves better leaders, teachers and mentors to their players; provides opportunities for coaches to connect with peers in the profession; serves as the unifying voice of a diverse community of coaches to the organizations that control the game; and celebrates those coaches, players and other individuals who excel each year and contribute to the advancement of the sport. Visit WBCA.org for more details about the association.

# # #