ATLANTA (March 11, 2020) —Cayla Petree, head coach at South Plains College in Texas, has been named the 2020 United States Marine Corps/WBCA Two-Year College National Coach of the Year, the Women's Basketball Coaches Association announced today.

Petree will be presented with the Pat Summitt Trophy, named for the late legendary University of Tennessee coach and awarded annually to the United States Marine Corps/WBCA National Coach of the Year in each of the WBCA’s six membership divisions, during the 2020 WBCA Convention, which will be held in conjunction with the NCAA Women’s Final Four in New Orleans, Louisiana.

“We congratulate Cayla Petree on being selected the 2020 United States Marine Corps/WBCA Two-Year College National Coach of the Year,” said WBCA Executive Director Danielle M. Donehew. “We recognize as well the other coaches named as finalists for this prestigious award. Cayla’s record of success at South Plains is impressive. The WBCA recognizes and applauds her leadership example as she serves her student-athletes, school and community.”

Since becoming head coach at South Plains in 2015, Petree has produced a 127-34 record. She has guided the Texans to the NJCAA Division I National Tournament three times, including this year’s national tournament for which South Plains, 32-1, will open play as the No. 2 seed. Petree recently was named the Western Junior College Athletic Conference Coach of the Year for the second straight season.

“The United States Marine Corps proudly recognizes Cayla Petree for her leadership with the Texans and her commitment to women’s basketball,” said Lieutenant Colonel Christian Devine, national director, marketing and communications, Marine Corps Recruiting Command. “The hard work and dedication needed to achieve this recognition from her peers embodies the fighting spirit of all Marines.”

The United States Marine Corps/WBCA Two-Year College National Coach of the Year is selected by a committee of coaches.

This year’s finalists were:



Jay Hanley

Bristol Community College (MA)

Andrew Morong

Central Maine Community College

John Ishee

Pratt Community College (KS)

Cayla Petree

South Plains College (TX)

David Stricklin

Umpqua Community College (OR)

Visit to see a list of past recipients.


#  #  #


About the WBCA
Founded in 1981, the Women's Basketball Coaches Association is the professional association for coaches of women's and girls' basketball at all levels of competition. The WBCA offers educational resources that coaches need to help make themselves better leaders, teachers and mentors to their players; provides opportunities for coaches to connect with peers in the profession; serves as the unifying voice of a diverse community of coaches to the organizations that control the game; and celebrates those coaches, players and other individuals who excel each year and contribute to the advancement of the sport. Visit for more details about the Association.