Ashland’s Kari Pickens named 2023 WBCA NCAA Division II National Coach of the Year

ATLANTA (March 17, 2023) — Ashland University head coach Kari Pickens has been named the 2023 WBCA NCAA Division II National Coach of the Year, the Women's Basketball Coaches Association announced today.

Pickens will receive the Pat Summitt Trophy, named for the late legendary University of Tennessee coach and awarded annually to the national coaches of the year in each of the WBCA’s six membership divisions.

“The WBCA is proud to announce Kari Pickens as the 2023 recipient of the Pat Summitt Trophy presented to the WBCA NCAA Division II National Coach of the Year,” said WBCA Executive Director Danielle M. Donehew. “We also congratulate the other head coaches who were selected by their peers as finalists for this prestigious award.

"Kari was chosen for this honor after leading her team to an exceptional season. The WBCA recognizes and applauds her leadership example that can be seen in her student-athletes, institution and community.”

The WBCA NCAA Division II National Coach of the Year is selected by a committee of coaches. This year’s finalists were:



John Bonner

California State University, Dominguez Hills

Carrie Eighmey

University of Nebraska at Kearney

Paul Honsinger

Eckerd College

Molly Marrin

Regis University

Justin Payne

Georgia Southwestern State University

Kerry Phayre

Assumption University

Kari Pickens

Ashland University

Kimberly Stephens

Glenville State College

Visit to see a list of past recipients of the award.

About the WBCA
Founded in 1981, the Women's Basketball Coaches Association is the professional association for coaches of women's and girls' basketball at all levels of competition. The WBCA offers educational resources that coaches need to help make themselves better leaders, teachers and mentors to their players; provides opportunities for coaches to connect with peers in the profession; serves as the unifying voice of a diverse community of coaches to the organizations that control the game; and celebrates those coaches, players and other individuals who excel each year and contribute to the advancement of the sport. Visit for more details about the association.

# # #