Ashland’s Fralick named 2018 United States Marine Corps/WBCA NCAA Division II National Coach of the Year

ATLANTA (March 18, 2018) — Robyn Fralick of Ashland University has been named the 2018 United States Marine Corps/WBCA NCAA Division II National Coach of the Year by the Women's Basketball Coaches Association for the second-straight year today.

Fralick will be presented with the Pat Summitt Trophy, named for the legendary University of Tennessee coach, during the 2018 WBCA Convention, which will be held in conjunction with the NCAA® Women’s Final Four® in Columbus, Ohio.

"For the second straight season, the WBCA is proud to name Robyn Fralick as the 2018 United States Marine Corps/WBCA NCAA Division II National Coach of the Year," said Danielle Donehew, executive director of the WBCA. "Robyn was selected as the winner by her peers after leading her team to an exceptional season. Her 102-2 record over the last two seasons is remarkable. The WBCA recognizes and applauds her leadership example that can be seen in her student-athletes, institution and community.”

Fralick has led the Eagles to their second-straight undefeated season going into the Elite Eight at 34-0. She helped Ashland win their third-straight GLIAC Tournament Title. Under Fralick, the Eagles have put together a 71-game winning streak, which is the fifth longest in NCAA basketball history (men or women at any level). Ashland finished the season as the top-ranked team in the country in the WBCA NCAA Division II Top 25 Coaches’ Poll for a record 40th time.

"The United States Marine Corps proudly recognizes Ashland University’s Robyn Fralick for her contributions and leadership to the Eagles and women’s basketball," said Lieutenant Colonel John Caldwell, National Director, Marketing and Communication, Marine Corps Recruiting Command.  "Coach Fralick exemplifies the willingness to engage and determination to win of all Marines."

The United States Marine Corps/WBCA NCAA Division II National Coach of the Year is selected by a committee of coaches from among the regional coaches of the year who are nominated and selected by their peers. This year’s United States Marine Corps/WBCA NCAA Division II Regional Coaches of the Year are:

  • Region 1 – Trisha Brown, Stonehill College
  • Region 2 – Stan Swank, Edinboro University
  • Region 3 – Michael Mincey, Carson-Newman University
  • Region 4 – Robyn Fralick, Ashland University
  • Region 5 – Mark Campbell, Union University
  • Region 6 – Steve Gomez, Lubbock Christian University
  • Region 7 – David Slifer, University of Central Missouri
  • Region 8 – Heidi VanDerveer, University of California – San Diego

Visit to see a list of past recipients.

About the WBCA
Founded in 1981, the Women's Basketball Coaches Association is the professional association for coaches of women's and girls' basketball at all levels of competition. The WBCA offers educational resources that coaches need to help make themselves better leaders, teachers and mentors to their players; provides opportunities for coaches to connect with peers in the profession; serves as the unifying voice of a diverse community of coaches to the organizations that control the game; and celebrates those coaches, players and other individuals who excel each year and contribute to the advancement of the sport. Visit for more details about the Association.