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11/24/15	–	Supplemental	Apparel	
Officials	are	being	told	by	team	personnel,	such	as	a	head	coach	or	athletic	trainer,	that	a	player	must	
wear	a	certain	item,	such	as	a	sleeve	or	knee	pad	whose	color	differs	from	those	worn	by	teammates,	
or	are	wearing	an	undershirt	which	does	not	meet	the	color	requirement	set	forth	in	Rule	1-23.1,	for	
"medical	reasons".	
		
The	only	procedure	that	exists	for	a	player	to	wear	an	article	of	apparel	or	a	piece	of	equipment	not	
normally	permitted	in	basketball	is	for	the	institution	to	request	a	waiver	from	the	NCAA.	This	waiver	
is	issued	by	the	secretary-rules	editor	and	the	team	it	is	issued	to	is	required	to	have	the	waiver	with	
them	at	each	game	and	to	inform	the	opposing	team	and	game	officials	of	its	existence.	
		
Rule	2-5.1	requires	the	referee	to	inspect	and	approve	all	players’	uniforms	and	all	equipment	before	
the	 game	 starts.	 When	 teams	 wear	 warmups	 before	 the	 start	 of	 the	 game,	 players’	
apparel/equipment	will	need	to	be	reinspected	once	the	warmups	are	removed.	Any	player	who	 is	
not	 properly	 attired	 shall	 not	 be	 permitted	 to	 play	 until	 they	 rectify	 their	 apparel.	 Do	 not	 instruct	
anyone	to	remove	anything;	simply	inform	the	head	coach	that	the	player	may	not	play	until	they	are	
properly	attired.		
		
If	 the	 head	 coach,	 trainer	 or	 other	 personnel	 informs	 the	 officiating	 crew	 that	 the	 item	 is	 for	 a	
medical	reason,	the	officials	are	to	ask	to	see	the	waiver	which	permits	the	article	to	be	worn.	If	the	
team	does	not	have	a	waiver,	do	not	permit	the	player	to	play	if	they	are	not	legally	attired.	
	
11/10/15	-	Option	to	Advance	interpretation	(revised)	
Rule	5-14.2.b	states	that	a	team	may	exercise	the	option	to	advance	the	ball	when,	 in	the	last	59.9	
seconds	of	the	game,	after	a	player	of	that	team	secures	“the	ball	from	a	rebound	in	the	backcourt	
and	 before	 any	 advance	 of	 the	 ball.”	 In	 developing	 the	Option	 to	 Advance	 quiz,	 the	 question	was	
raised	as	to	whether	this	applied	to	an	offensive	rebound	as	well.	On	October	29,	an	interpretation	
was	 released	 which	 dealt	 with	 offensive	 rebounds	 and	 when	 the	 option	 to	 advance	 would	 be	
available.	That	interpretation	has	been	discarded.	What	is	ultimately	important	is	what	is	written	in	
the	rule	book.	Interpretations	should	either	clarify	what	is	already	in	the	written	language	of	the	rule	
book	or	deal	with	situations	not	specifically	covered	by	rule.	Based	upon	the	written	language	of	the	
rule,	there	is	no	differentiation	between	an	offensive	or	defensive	rebound.	
	
A	 rebound	 occurs	 “when	 a	 player	 secures	 control	 of	 the	 ball	 after	 a	 try	 for	 goal	 (Rule	 4-30.1).”	 A	
rebound	may	be	secured	by	an	offensive	or	defensive	player.	When	any	player	secures	control	of	a	
rebound	in	her	team’s	backcourt,	and	there	is	59.9	seconds	or	less	remaining	in	the	game	when	her	



team	is	granted	and	charged	with	a	timeout,	the	option	to	advance	is	available.		
	
Additionally,	when	a	defensive	player	blocks	a	try	for	goal,	the	player	who	first	secures	control	of	the	
ball	has,	in	fact,	rebounded	the	ball.	If	this	player	is	located	in	her	team’s	backcourt,	and	there	is	59.9	
seconds	 or	 less	 remaining	 in	 the	when	 her	 team	 is	 granted	 and	 charged	 a	 timeout,	 the	 option	 to	
advance	is	available.		
	
Play	1:	With	23.2	seconds	remaining	in	the	game,	A1’s	try:	a)	strikes	the	ring	or	b)	misses	the	ring	but	
strikes	the	backboard	and	rebounds	into	Team	A’s	backcourt.	A2	secures	control	of	the	ball	and	Team	
A’s	 coach	 immediately	 requests	 a	 timeout	 before	 A2	 dribbles	 the	 ball	 or	makes	 a	 pass.	 Team	 A’s	
coach	wishes	to	advance	the	ball.	Ruling	1:	In	both	a)	and	b)	Team	A	may	advance	the	ball	to	the	28-
foot	line	in	the	frontcourt	
	
Play	2:	With	43.5	 seconds	 remaining	 in	 the	game,	A1’s	 try	 is	blocked	by	B1.	The	ball	bounces	 into	
Team	A’s	 backcourt	where	 it	 is	 recovered	 by	 A2.	 Team	A’s	 coach	 immediately	 requests	 a	 timeout	
before	A2	dribbles	 the	ball	 or	makes	a	pass.	 Team	A’s	 coach	wishes	 to	advance	 the	ball.	Ruling	2:	
Team	A	may	advance	the	ball	to	the	28-foot	line	in	the	frontcourt,	as	A2	secured	a	rebound	from	the	
unsuccessful	try.	
	
Play	3:	With	15.4	seconds	remaining	in	the	game,	A1	attempts	a	pass	to	A2.	B1	deflects	the	ball	into	
Team	A’s	backcourt.	A3	secures	control	of	the	ball.	Team	A’s	coach	immediately	requests	a	timeout	
before	A3	dribbles	or	passes	the	ball.	Team	A’s	coach	wishes	to	advance	the	ball.	Ruling	3:	Team	A	
does	not	have	the	option	to	advance	the	ball	available,	as	A3	did	not	secure	a	rebound.	
	
10/19/15	Shot-Clock	Violation	and	the	use	of	instant	replay	
A	question	was	raised	at	one	of	the	regional	clinics	concerning	the	use	of	instant	replay	to	determine	
whether	 or	 not	 a	 shot-clock	 violation	 has	 occurred.	 Rule	 11-2.1.e	 permits	 officials	 to	 use	 instant	
replay	in	the	last	two	minutes	of	the	game	(fourth	period	and	any	extra	period)	to	determine	if	shot-
clock	violation	has	occurred.	The	use	of	instant	replay	in	this	situation	is	not	required,	but	is	available	
to	the	officials.	Rule	11-3.1.a.1	states	that	officials	shall	use	instant	replay	to	determine	whether	or	
not	a	shot-clock	violation	has	occurred	prior	to	the	reading	of	zeroes	on	the	game	clock	at	the	end	of	
any	 period.	 These	 rules	 are	 not	 in	 conflict	 with	 each	 other.	 In	 the	 last	 two	minutes	 of	 the	 game	
(fourth	period	or	any	extra	period),	officials	may	use	 instant	 replay	 to	determine	whether	or	not	a	
shot-clock	 violation	 has	 occurred,	 but	 if	 it	 is	 a	 question	 of	whether	 or	 not	 the	 shot-clock	 violation	
occurs	 before	 the	 reading	 of	 zeroes	 on	 the	 game	 clock,	 the	 officials	 shall	 use	 instant	 replay	 to	
determine	whether	the	goal	shall	count	or	not.	
	
Play	1:	Team	A	inbounds	the	ball	following	a	goal	with	30.5	seconds	on	the	game	clock	in	the	(a)	first	
period	or	(b)	 fourth	period.	A1’s	try	for	goal	 is	near	the	expiration	of	the	shot-clock	period	and	the	
end	of	the	period.	The	goal	is	successful.		
	
Ruling	1:	In	both	(a)	and	(b),	the	officials	shall	use	instant	replay	to	determine	whether	or	not	a	shot-
clock	violation	occurred	before	the	reading	of	zeroes	on	the	game	clock.	If	replay	determines	that	the	
ball	was	still	in	A1’s	hand(s)	when	the	shot-clock	period	expired,	this	is	a	shot-clock	violation	and	the	
goal	shall	be	cancelled.	The	correct	time	shall	be	placed	on	the	game	clock	and	a	throw-in	awarded	to	
the	opposing	team	at	the	out-of-bounds	spot	nearest	to	where	the	violation	occurred.	
	
Play	2:	Team	A	inbounds	the	ball	following	a	goal	with	55.9	seconds	on	the	game	clock	in	the	(a)	first	
period	or	(b)	fourth	period.	A1’s	try	for	goal	is	near	the	expiration	of	the	shot-clock	period.	The	goal	is	



successful.		
	
Ruling	2:	In	(a),	the	use	of	instant	replay	is	not	permitted	to	review	the	possible	shot-clock	violation.	
In	 (b),	 the	 officials	may	 use	 instant	 replay	 to	 determine	 if	 a	 shot-clock	 violation	 occurred	 because	
there	is	two	minute	or	less	remaining	in	the	game.	
	
Additionally,	a	rule	change	this	year	(Rule	11-1.3)	permits	the	officials	to	use	the	reading	of	zeroes	on	
the	shot-clock,	when	the	shot-clock	horn	is	inaudible,	to	determine	whether	a	shot-clock	violation	has	
occurred	as	in	Rule	11-2.1.e.1.	For	consistency	in	the	adjudication	of	shot-clock	violations	prior	to	the	
reading	of	zeroes	on	the	game	clock	at	the	end	of	a	period,	the	use	of	zeroes	on	the	shot	clock,	when	
the	horn	is	inaudible,	is	permitted	in	those	situations	as	well.	
	
10/1/15	Post	Play	–	Legal	Contact	(clarified	10/25/15)	
This	season,	the	rules	committee	revised	the	guidelines	for	determining	legal	and	illegal	contact	on	a	
post	player	 in	 control	of	 the	ball	 in	 the	 lane	area	with	her	back	 to	 the	basket.	 The	new	guidelines	
state	 that	 in	 this	 situation,	 the	 defensive	 post	 player	 “may	 place	 a	 forearm	 or	 one	 hand	 on	 the	
offensive	player”.	Additionally,	 in	this	same	scenario,	 it	 is	 illegal	 for	the	defensive	player	to	contact	
the	offensive	post	player	with	her	body,	leg	or	knee.		
	
It	 is	 important	to	remember	that,	 in	either	case,	 it	 is	the	defensive	player	who	initiates	the	contact	
with	the	offensive	player.	If	an	offensive	post	player	with	the	ball	causes	contact	with	the	defensive	
post	 player	 and	 the	 contact	 is	 with	 non-permitted	 body	 parts,	 this	 is	 not	 a	 foul	 on	 the	 defensive	
player.	Also,	a	defensive	post	player	is	never	required	to	vacate	a	legally	established	position	because	
of	the	movement	of	an	offensive	player	(Rule	4-18.3).	
	
Officials	 have	 to	 know	which	 player	 initiated	 the	 contact.	When	 the	 defensive	 player	 places	 body	
parts	in	excess	of	what	is	permitted	on	the	offensive	post	player	with	the	ball,	a	foul	shall	be	called	on	
the	 defensive	 player.	 When	 the	 offensive	 post	 player	 causes	 contact	 with	 the	 defender	 and	 this	
contact	is	incidental,	a	foul	shall	not	be	charged	to	the	defender;	when	this	contact	is	illegal,	a	player-
control	foul	shall	be	charged	to	the	offensive	player.	
	
Play:	Offensive	post	player	A1,	without	the	ball	is	defended	by	B1.	Both	players	are	legally	entitled	to	
their	spot	on	the	playing	court.	There	is	full	body	contact	and	neither	player	is	illegally	contacting	her	
opponent.	A1	receives	an	entry	pass	and	both	players	are	maintaining	their	position	on	the	playing	
court.	Ruling:	B1	may	maintain	her	legally	established	spot	on	the	playing	court	and	the	contact	shall	
not	be	ruled	a	foul	unless	B1	commits	illegal	contact	by	pushing	or	displacing	A1	from	her	spot	on	the	
playing	court.	While	B1	is	not	required	to	leave	her	legally	established	position	on	the	playing	court,	
after	the	initial	contact	B1	must	now	legally	contact	the	offensive	post	player	with	one	forearm	away	
from	 the	body	or	one	hand	with	a	bend	 in	 the	elbow.	 It	was	 the	 intent	of	 the	 rules	 committee	 to	
create	space	between	the	offensive	post	player	with	the	ball	and	the	defensive	player.	
	
9/22/15	Bench	Decorum		
The	 rules	 committee	 continues	 to	 identify	 bench	 decorum	 as	 an	 area	 of	 concern.	 It	 has	 been	
observed	 that	 players	 are	 often	 held	 to	 a	 higher	 standard	 than	 the	 coaches	 and	 other	 bench	
personnel.	Coaches	and	bench	personnel	are	expected	to	adhere	to	Rule	10-4.	Prior	to	the	2012-13	
season,	the	rules	committee	provided	some	examples	of	what	constitutes	egregious	behavior,	which	
should	be	properly	and	consistently	penalized	with	a	technical	foul	without	warning.	These	examples	
continue	to	be	applicable	today.	
	



Examples	of	egregious	conduct	violations	include,	but	are	not	limited	to,	the	following:	
1. Comments	directed	at	or	referring	to	any	game	official	that	question	the	integrity	of	an	

official	 (e.g.,	 repeated	 references	 to	 the	 number	 of	 fouls	 called	 against	 each	 team;	
suggesting	an	official	is	“cheating”	a	team,	etc.).	

2. Profane,	vulgar,	threatening,	or	derogatory	remarks	or	personal	comments	relating	to	
race,	 ethnicity,	 religion,	 gender,	 or	 sexual	 orientation	directed	 at	 or	 referring	 to	 any	
game	official	or	opposing	player/bench	personnel.	

3. Prolonged	negative	responses	to	a	call/no-call	which	is	disrespectful	or	unprofessional	
and	includes,	but	is	not	limited	to:	thrashing	of	arms	in	disgust,	dramatizing	contact	by	
re-enacting	the	play,	or	running	or	jumping	in	disbelief	over	a	call/no-call.	

4. A	 negative	 response	 to	 a	 call/no-call	 including,	 but	 not	 limited	 to:	
approaching/charging	 an	 official	 in	 a	 hostile,	 aggressive	 or	 otherwise	 threatening	
manner,	 emphatically	 removing	 one’s	 coat	 in	 response	 to	 a	 call/no-call	 or	 throwing	
equipment	or	clothing	on	to	the	floor.	

5. Continual	 criticism	 during	 a	 game	 regarding	 the	 same	 incident	 after	 warning	 by	 an	
official.	

	
Officials	should	permit	certain	behavior	by	the	head	coach	who	engages	in	spontaneous	reactions	to	
officiating	calls/no-calls	provided	the	head	coach	remains	in	the	coaching	box	and	the	reaction	is	not	
prolonged,	 profane,	 vulgar,	 or	 threatening.	 At	 the	 official’s	 discretion,	 recurring	 spontaneous	
reactions	by	the	head	coach	may	result	in	a	warning	with	subsequent	incidents	resulting	in	a	technical	
foul.	When	complaints	become	more	public	or	the	attacks	personal,	there	should	be	less	discretion	
exercised	by	the	official.	
	
9/16/15	Post	Player	vs.	Ball	Handler/Dribbler	
With	this	year’s	rule	change	reducing	the	amount	of	contact	a	defensive	player	may	have	with	a	post	
player	 in	 control	 of	 the	 ball	 (holding	 or	 dribbling)	 in	 the	 lane	 area,	 it	 will	 be	 important	 for	 all	
stakeholders	to	better	understand	when	the	player	in	control	is	a	post	player	and	when	she	is	a	ball	
handler/dribbler.	
	
A	post	player	is	defined	as	any	offensive	or	defensive	player	in	the	lane	area	with	or	without	the	ball	
with	her	back	 to	 the	basket	 (Rule	4-29).	The	 lane	area	 is	 the	 three-second	 lane	and	approximately	
three	feet	outside	the	lane.	When	a	post	player	in	control	of	the	ball	faces	the	basket,	she	is	now	a	
ball	handler/dribbler	(Rule	4-2).	While	this	appears	to	be	clear-cut,	the	question	has	been	raised	as	to	
when	a	post	player	becomes	a	ball	handler/dribbler.	
	
In	 order	 to	 be	 considered	 “facing”	 the	 basket,	 the	 offensive	 post	 player	 must	 have	 both	 of	 her	
shoulders	“square”	to,	or	facing,	the	basket.	Regardless	of	the	movement	of	this	player,	until	both	of	
her	shoulders	are	square	to	the	basket,	she	remains	a	post	player	and	a	defender	may	contact	her	
with	one	forearm	away	from	the	body	or	one	hand	with	a	bend	in	the	elbow.	Once	her	shoulders	are	
square	to	the	basket,	she	is	now	a	ball	handler/dribbler	and	the	defender	may	only	contact	the	ball	
handler/dribbler	with	a	one	hand	“measure	up”	touch.	
	
		


